God of War Ragnarok: All Realms and Regions

Abu Bakar Karim
By Abu Bakar Karim
6 Min Read
God of War Ragnarok: All Realms and Regions

Acquire the knowledge from deep down Midgard to Asgard and other realms and regions in God of War Ragnarok. Eivør’s theme intensifies.

Since the murder of Zeus, Santa Monica is not holding back Kratos anymore. The studio is most likely to have put everything they have into its latest installment, God of War: Ragnarok. After the massive success of the prequel, needless to say, Ragnarok has to offer an elephant. So far, there has been massive constructive criticism, mostly praising the fruit ripened.

In Ragnarok, we will be facing the ever-lasting Fambulwinter that came upon us after the death of Baldur, son of Odin. Now, Odin and Thor are both hunting down Kratos and Atreus throughout the realms. And to talk about realms and regions, God of War: Ragnarok is more vast than the prequel one. In this guide, we will be focusing on the realms and regions where you can observe some astounding landscapes. Hop in!

Read More: All Trophies of God of War: Ragnarok

All the Realms and Regions in God of War: Ragnarok

Ragnarok will be offering you to visit all the Nine realms that have been mentioned several times in Nordic Mythology. However, in the prequel, we could only get into Six of them. And now, the other Three have been unlocked. So, you better ask Aladeen to take you out throughout the Nine realms and the regions around.

The Nine realms are as below:

  • Midgard
  • Alfheim
  • Helheim
  • Jotunheim
  • Muspelheim
  • Niflheim
  • Vanaheim
  • Svartalfheim
  • Asgard

Before visiting each of them, remember, the Fimbulwinter is here. The paths are deadlier than before, and so as the foes. Keep tight, and hold on to sledge. Let’s see what these realms and regions offer us in God of War: Ragnarok.


Home sweet home. As the Fimbulwinter is here, you can get rid of the “sweet” part. Not only is this where Kratos and Atreus have a roof over their head, but it is also the most inhabited place by the mortals.

However, after the ever-lasting winter began, the so-remembered Nine lake was frozen. The only option is to sledge over the lake by holding on to Speki and Svanna. Such a lovely-dovey.


We have visited this place to fight off those Dark Elves and their commanders. Moreover, this is also a habitat for the Light Elves. However, both elves are locked in the Temple of Light, also known as the Temple of Freyr.


Ah yes, the place of the Hell-walkers, in other words, the Realm of the Dead. By Mimir, this is the most dangerous place of the Nine Realms. As we have already got trapped once with Kratos, we were drowned in illusions and nightmares. Well, for the Spartan, it was just child’s play.


Kratos’s wife, Faye’s tale originated from Jotunheim. Moreover, this place is also covered by the Frost Giants. To this day, Odin has no access to this reals. However, our heroes have the pass to explore, and Atreus has many questions to answer, which he believes he can find here.


The Realm of Fire is said to provide energy for all the rest of the Realms. And surprise, surprise, the Fire Giant, Surtr, resides in this Realm and is said to be the bearer of Ragnarok. And by the infinite wisdom of Mimir, he can only be seen when it’s the ultimate time.


Niflheim is said to be the first of the Realms where life began. The primordial species first saw the daylight from this Realm. However, the condition is much more adverse now. The air is poisonous and hence, a great place for the toughest souls to test their limits. The Realm of Fog is also the origin of the great Dwarf alchemist, Ivaldi.


The Realm of the Vanir gods was nothing but a battlefield until Odin married Freya. Our heroes visited this place last time, and they had to come back over and over to get the aid of the great dark witch, Freya, who is now hunting both of them. However, this place has now gone to the dogs, and the rest of the survivors are just surviving to see the next daylight.


The Realm of the Dwarves has been sealed for centuries to avoid any means of relation with the Vanir gods. Since then, the Dwarves have put up an undying allegiance to Odin. To talk about Ragnarok’s plot, Svartalfheim will play a vital part in the story.


Finally, the Realm of the Gods. Also, the kernel of Norse Mythology. However, this place is still accessible only to the Aesir gods and the warriors that have been granted an honorable death. And to talk about Ragnarok, Surtr plans to start Ragnarok from Asgard.

That is all I had in my stash for the realms and regions you will come across in God of War: Ragnarok. The Valhalla, we seek!

Before starting for Valhalla, check out our other relics to know all the difficulty and graphic modes of God of War: Ragnarok.

Avatar photo
By Abu Bakar Karim Deputy Guide Editor
AB Karim is the Deputy Editor of the Guide section at GameRiv. With an insatiable love for RPGs and a knack for puns, AB combines his passion for gaming with a professional touch. He has to polish every word with precision; otherwise, he will keep losing health bar. Keep that aside for now, and let's embark on epic quests and unravel mysteries with AB as your trusted guide. Prosst!