How to Unlock All Playable Characters in Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles

Md Obyead
By Md Obyead
6 Min Read
Credit- CyberConnect2

Here are all the characters you can unlock in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba – The Hinokami Chronicles.

Characters are a significant part of every fighting game. 3D fighting games have always had a different set of fans. Starting from Tekken to Dragon Ball Z, all have been amazingly successful games in their respective The recent blockbuster anime Demon Slayer now has an official game, which was released a couple of days ago.

However, unlocking all characters in a fighting game can be a challenge. So we have made a complete guide on how to unlock all the characters in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba—The Hinokami Chronicles.

Read More: Top 7 Best Weapons in Far Cry 6

All Playable Characters in Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles

As of now, this Demon Slayer game has a total of 18 characters and 6 DLC characters. Each has its own fighting style and moves adapted from anime and manga. We have made a list showing how you can easily unlock these characters in the game.

Tanjiro, Makomo, Sakonji Urokodaki, and Sabito


Sakonji Urokodaki



The majority of the characters you play in this game can be easily obtained by just finishing the story. You can unlock Tanjiro, Makomo, Sakonji Urokodaki, and Sabito by simply completing the Prologue. Tanjiro is one of the best characters in the game, and he is worth getting used to when you play the game. Makomo, Sabito, and Sakonji are great, too, but Tanjiro stands on the top among the first four characters you will unlock.

Nezuko Kamado

Credit- CyberConnect2

The only demon that helps humans and the sister of Tanjiro is available as a playable character after chapter 2. You can play as her and make your enemies feel her rage and power as a demon.

Zenitsu Agatsuma and Inosuke Hashibira



Moving on, after you finish with chapter 4, you will finally be able to play Tanjiro’s friends. Zenit and Inosuke both will now be available as playable characters in your arsenal. Even though they are our hero’s friends and journey partners, they are not the best characters to play in the game.


Credit- CyberConnect2

Murata is one of the characters who has not been seen much in the anime released. However, you will be able to add him to your roster after completing chapter 5. Following on from Zenitsu, Inosuke, and Nezuko, they all are the same as Murata. They are not the best characters to play in the game but not the worst.

Giyu Tomioka

Giyu Tomioka
Credit- CyberConnect2

After much anticipation, in chapter 5, you will finally unlock the Harshirama we all love and admire. Giyu Tomioka will be joining our list of playable characters along with his unique skills. Giyu is one the most powerful and fun characters to get your hands in this Demon Slayer game.

Shinobu Kocho

Shinobu Kocho
Credit- CyberConnect2

After you finish chapter seven, Shinobu Kocho will now be unlocked for you to try out. The master doctor is one of the unique characters in the anime as well as in the game. She is a great character to play and can be one of the best if you use it wisely.

Kyojuro Rengoku and Hinokami Tanjiro



The last of the unlockable characters through playing are Kyojuro Rengoku and Hinokami Tanjiro. Both the fierce Hasirama Kyojuro and Hinokami breath user Tanjiro will be available as playable characters after finishing chapter 8.

Academy Alternatives




Unlike the characters you unlock by completing the story, these academy alternatives will require you to do certain things. You can permanently open them using Kimetsu points. However, if you do not want to use Kimetsu points, Demon Slayer allows you to get these characters after meeting some special requirements.

Also, you can unlock Academy Tanjiro by viewing 40 memory fragments. Similarly, Academy Nezuko will need you to view all 53 memory fragments. Furthermore, to unlock Academy Zenitsu, fans will need to complete 15 reward missions.

And similarly, to unlock Academy Inosuke, you will need to finish 19 reward missions. Academy Giyu can be unlocked after you complete all seven special missions on normal difficulty. For Unlocking Academy Shinobu, you will have to do all the seven special missions but hard difficulty.

DLC Characters



Six DLC characters are coming to Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba—The Hinokami Chronicles. Out of which, only two CyberConnect2 has confirmed are coming. Both Akaza and Rui will be coming as a free update on the versus mode as DLC characters.

Avatar photo
By Md Obyead Deputy Roblox Editor
Md Obyead is the Deputy Editor of the Roblox section at GameRiv. Obyead has a passion for writing articles, scripts, and poems. He lives with one quote in life "With hardwork, dedication and will power you can get anywhere in the world."