Digimon Survive: Karma System Explained

Here is a complete breakdown of the Karma system and how it affects your Digimon’s evolution in Digimon Survive.

Digimon Survive is a visual novel and tactical RPG based in a survival setting. Developed by Hyde and published by Bandai Namco Entertainment, the new Digimon game is nothing like its predecessors. The story is centered around Takuma Momozuka and his friends, who are transported to an alternate dimension during their visit to a historical landmark.

Read More: Digimon Survive: All Achievements and Trophies

In Digimon Survive, players must make various choices that will alter and shape the course of the story. In addition to providing a unique blend of exploration, tactical combat, and visual novel storytelling to players, the game also offers a unique Karma system. If you are not familiar with the concept of Karma or having trouble figuring out how it works, then we’ve got your back.

Karma system – How it Works

Karma in Digimon Survive works a little differently from what you might expect. As explained by producer Kazumasa Habu, the Digimon we see in Digimon Survive is a reflection of the human heart. And because of that, Takuma’s decisions throughout the story play a large role in the evolution of his Digimon partner, Agumon.

However, these decisions are not just limited to dialogue options. Starting from what Takuma does after waking up to how he spends his day, and whether he fights or flees in life-threatening situations will all greatly impact his Digimon’s evolution. Based on the type of Karma your decisions are focused on, the Karma score will go up.

Types of Karma in Digimon Survive

There are three types of Karma in Digimon Survive. They are:

  • Moral – focuses on Takuma’s moral compass. You must play by the rules and be cautious to get a high Moral Karma score. Moreover, you’ll also have to show empathy and make just decisions whenever possible.
  • Harmony – focuses on conflict resolution and compassion. You’ll have to maintain peace and avoid fights when possible to get a high Harmony Karma score.
  • Wrathful – forces on more aggressive methods. To get a high Wrathful Karma score, you must focus on getting things done by whatever means necessary. However, it doesn’t necessarily mean you have to get into fights or be mean whenever possible.

Based on your choices, Agumon’s evolution can lean towards either of these Karma. However, there is no need to worry as they don’t cancel each other out. Moreover, if you are worried you’ll make the wrong dialogue choices, each of the three dialogue options will have their respective color codes to show you which Karma score it attributes.

To make things easier, Moral dialogue options will always be at the top right, whereas harmonious choices will be placed at the bottom right, and wrathful dialogue options will always be placed at the bottom left. Ultimately, whichever Karma score stands the highest will affect Agumon’s growth as a Digimon.

Agumon’s Evolution based on Karma

When fighting Dokugumon, Agumon will evolve into any of these three Champion-level Digimon based on which Karma score is the highest. This will help you decide which chain evolution you want for your Digimon.

  • Greymon – when Moral Karma is the highest
  • Tyrannomon – when Harmony Karma is the highest
  • Tuskmon – when Wrathful Karma is the highest

How Karma affects Digimon Attributes

Each Digimon is strong or weak to three specific attributes: Vaccine, Data, and Virus. When attempting to befriend a Digimon, it is important to choose dialogue options that are compatible with the Digimon’s attributes.

  • Moral – Vaccine attribute
  • Harmony – Data attribute
  • Wrathful – Virus attribute

Digimon Survive is now available on PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, and PC.

Read More: All Character Endings in As Dusk Falls

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get all the latest Esports, Gaming, and Entertainment news.

More Related