Riot Officially Reveals New Event Pass Rework Tab for League of Legends

Fahim Shahriar
By Fahim Shahriar
2 Min Read
Image Credit: Riot Games

The reworked event pass system has been added to the PBE servers.

The Battle Pass system, over the years, has become an integral part of the gaming landscape. It is a monetization system that rewards players for playing the game or completing specific tasks. Although inspired by Dota 2’s Season Pass system, it has evolved over the years.

The Battle pass system is most prevalent in free-to-play games. And League, a free-to-play game, also has a Battle Pass system. League of Legends’s Battle Pass system is called Event Pass. It was added to League on patch 7.12, along with the missions tab. Event Pass is a paid system where players are given various rewards by completing pass missions. These pass missions rewards include Event Tokens, Icons, Mythic Essence, etc.

Ever since Event Pass’s release, it has seen minimal changes. But, after years of waiting, Riot is finally changing the Event Pass system.

They recently added various changes to the Event Pass system, including new HUB, rewards, and reward tiers.

How will it work?

The pass will be divided into 50 levels, and each level will reward the player with different items. These items include (for paid pass users),

  • 4 Event Bags
  • 4 Emotes
  • 2100 Event Tokens pre-level 50 missions
  • Unlimited Event Tokens post level 50 missions
  • Mythic Essence
  • Eternal Serie 1 Capsules
  • Blue Essence

These rewards are solid, but it takes quite a bit to reach 50 and get the post-level 50 missions. However, the changes are not confirmed yet, so we will have to wait and see how Riot changes the system.

Release Date

The changes are currently in the PBE (Public Beta Environment) servers for testing and will be released on the live servers in Patch 12.19, Thursday, Oct 6, 2022.

Shahriar is a League of Legends writer at GameRiv. He enjoys playing Video Games, watching Anime, and browsing the internet for outdated memes.