How Many Game Modes Can You Play in Minecraft?

Muhibul Alam Chowdhury
By Muhibul Alam Chowdhury
4 Min Read
Credit: Mojang Studios

All the different game modes you can enjoy in Minecraft.

Minecraft is one of the most widely recognized IPs in the world, and since its release in 2011, it has not shown any signs of dying. Even through the releases of other massively popular multiplayer games and the rise of new genres, Minecraft remains one of the most widely played and viewed video games. Furthermore, its formula is one that new games still try to replicate.

Read More: Top 5 Minecraft Worlds to Explore

One factor that has led to this popularity is the amount of ways Minecraft can be played. From the multitude of platforms its available on, to its varied game modes, Minecraft has something for all kinds of gamers to enjoy.

Along with the popular survival mode, Minecraft offers game modes that allows for more relaxing as well as more challenging gameplay.

This article explores each game mode that Minecraft has to offer.

Survival Mode

Survival Mode
Credit: Mojang Studios

This is the game mode that inspired a whole slew of games and gave rise to the era where a new open world survival crafting game would seemingly release every day.

The gameplay loop of this mode is ingrained in most gamer’s heads. Collect resources, build shelter, craft items, and gather food during the day. Fight off and survive waves of mobs such as zombies, creepers, etc in the night.

However, this is a gross oversimplification, and this mode has a lot of depth and replayability that all the numerous clones and imitators have struggled to replicate.

Creative Mode

Creative Mode
Credit: WesterosCraft (Youtube)

This is another widely popular game mode, only behind survival mode. In it, you have access to unlimited resources as well as the ability to fly.

Like the name suggests, this game mode is intended to allow players to unleash their creativity, building elaborate structures without having to worry about the survival aspects of the game. This has allowed for the creation of many structures, such as entire cities from fictional universes to even a working calculator.

Adventure Mode

Adventure Mode is intended for the creation of custom maps, allowing creators to control what players can interact with. This let’s map makers tailor gameplay to be more mission oriented like traditional action-adventure games.

While the gameplay loop is similar to that of Survival Mode, it has much more limited crafting and mining. Furthermore, map makers can set a specific location for you to spawn in and customize mobs.

Spectator Mode

Like the name suggests, Spectator mode allows you to observe a world without interacting with it in any way. Spectators can fly, go through objects and view everything in a world, including other Spectators.

Hardcore Mode

Hardcore Mode is similar to Survival Mode but is significantly more difficult, as you might have guessed. The main difference is that it does not allow respawning. Meaning that you once you die your world will be deleted. Newer players might not be familiar with this game mode as it is exclusive to the Java Edition.

Read More: Minecraft Legends: All Trophies and Achievements

Muhibul Alam Chowdhury is a Guide writer at GameRiv.