Assassin’s Creed Mirage Timeline: When Does Mirage Take Place?

Adiba Chowdhury
By Adiba Chowdhury
3 Min Read
Credit: Ubisoft

So, at which point in history does the new Assassin’s Creed take place? Here’s the AC Mirage Timeline explained.

Assassin’s Creed Mirage is Ubisoft’s latest title in their long-running action-adventure franchise of Assassin’s Creed. The story takes place in 9th-century Baghdad from the perspective of a 17-year-old street thief named Basim Ibn Ishaq.

However, this will not be the first time that the small-time thief turned seasoned assassin is making an appearance in the franchise. That’s right, many of you who have played AC Valhalla might recognize Basim from the game’s DLC.

Read More: Assassin’s Creed Mirage (AC Mirage): PC System Requirements

Although he had an antagonistic role in AC Valhalla, Basim gets to be the protagonist of AC Mirage. Or, more precisely, his younger self does. So, Mirage serves as an origin story for Basim.

Having said that, all Assassin’s Creed games take pride in their historically accurate world settings. Knowing the events depicted in AC Valhalla took place between 872 and 878, many of you might be wondering when the events of AC Mirage occurred in history.

Moreover, AC Mirage is also the thirteenth mainline entry in the franchise. So, you may be wondering when Basim’s story takes place among that of every other AC protagonist.

To clear up your confusion, we have outlined the chronological order of all Assassin’s Creed games to highlight AC Mirage’s exact timeline.

AC Mirage Timeline Explained

Here is a timeline of when each Assassin’s Creed game’s story takes place in history:

  1. Assassin’s Creed Odyssey (431 B.C.–422 B.C.)
  2. Assassin’s Creed Origins (49 B.C.–44 B.C.)
  3. Assassin’s Creed Mirage (861 – ?)
  4. Assassin’s Creed Valhalla (872–878)
  5. Assassin’s Creed (1191)
  6. Assassin’s Creed II (1476–1499)
  7. Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood (1499–1507)
  8. Assassin’s Creed: Revelations (1511–1512)
  9. Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag (1715–1722)
  10. Assassin’s Creed Rogue (1752–1760)
  11. Assassin’s Creed III (1754–1783)
  12. Assassins Creed Unity (1789–1794)
  13. Assassin’s Creed Syndicate (1868)

From a chronological perspective, AC Mirage takes place between AC Origins and AC Valhalla. To elaborate, Basim’s story starts over 900 years after Bayek and Aya’s story concludes in AC Origins.

Without spoiling the events of AC Valhalla, Basim is still alive during the events of Valhalla and acts as a frenemy towards protagonists Layla and Eivor.

Given Basim was born in 835, he would have been in his 40s during the events of Valhalla since Eivor’s story takes place approximately 20 years after the events of Mirage.

So, we can say that AC Mirage is a prequel to AC Valhalla. Moreover, Basim’s story also takes place over 300 years before Altaïr’s story in Assassin’s Creed 1, making Mirage the third of thirteen games in AC’s chronological series.

Read More: Assassin’s Creed Mirage (AC Mirage): How Long to Beat the Game

Avatar photo
By Adiba Chowdhury Deputy Evergreen Editor
Adiba Chowdhury is the Deputy Editor of the Evergreen section at GameRiv. Adiba is an avid gamer, artist, and anime lover. She expresses her love for RPGs, JRPGs, and Action Adventure games by writing about evergreen titles with lasting impressions for GameRiv.