Resident Evil 4 Remake: How to Complete the Game With S+ Rank

Tanim Hasan
By Tanim Hasan
5 Min Read
Credit: Capcom

Getting S+ rank in Resident Evil 4 Remake is a difficult task, to say the least. But it isn’t impossible. Here are some tricks you need to know to S+ Rank the game.

Resident Evil 4 Remake brings back the rating system from its older version. Based on how long you took to beat the game and how efficient you were, it will give you a rank when you complete the game with different difficulties. Regardless of the difficulty, the criteria on which the grading is done are similar across the game.

There are several factors that go into grading a playthrough. After completing a playthrough, you will be able to see the number of saves, time spent, and the total number of playthroughs. Additionally, each chapter shows you how many death you have had in that chapter and how long it took to beat it. Keep an eye on these as they become important for getting a good grade.

Even though the game decides the grade based on save and playtime, each difficulty has its own save and time limit. So here we have broken down all the criteria you need to pass for each difficulty to get the grade you want, which in this case is S+.

Read More: How to Unlock Professional Mode RE4 Remake

S+ Rank Demands Single Sitting Play

There is a very important point you need to remember if you want to get an S+ in any difficulty. That is, you will need to play the whole game in a single sitting. For all the S+ rank challenges, there is a time limit to complete the game. And this time limit does not exceed 7 hours mark. So it’s not terribly impossible, but it’s not too easy without a break.

Not being able to continue from a save certainly makes things more difficult for the players. But there is a workaround that you can use to pause the game. While quitting and then restarting from the save to bump you down to S rank, you can pause the game timer to take a break. The game needs to be running, but the in-game timer will remain paused on the pause menu.

This way, you will be able to take breaks if necessary and still get a low enough time to achieve the S+ rank. But be careful that the in-game timer remains paused on the pause menu, not the inventory menu. So if you keep your game open too long on the inventory menu, it will become harder to get the right time to achieve the S+ rank.

Credit: Capcom

Getting S+ Rank in Every Difficulty

Here is a table detailing what each difficulty asks of the player to get an S+ rank in Resident Evil 4 Remake.

Difficulty SettingsS+ Rank Requirement
AssistedComplete the game in under four hours.
StandardComplete the game in under five hours.
HardcoreComplete the game in under five hours and thirty minutes.
ProfessionalComplete the game in under five hours and thirty minutes.
Additionally, Do not save more than 15 times.

Again, all these have to do it in a single sitting. That means you need to start by clicking the new game and have to finish the game before you stop. And in Professional mode, autosave is disabled. Thus, the professional mode S+ run is by far the hardest challenge the game can throw at you. You can follow these tips to make your S+ run a bit easier:

  • Skip all the skippable fights.
  • Ignore the merchant unless you need some item to complete your layout.
  • Ignore all the treasure that needs gems. The time investment is not worth it on an S+ run.
  • Use the Pause menu (Not the inventory menu) for a break.
  • Decide on an equipment layout for the run and stick to it. You will find the equipment guide for S+ run right here, detailing the Best Equipment for getting S+ Rank.

Looking for more Resident Evil 4 Remake guides? You can check out our articles on How to Parry AttacksHow to Swap GunsBest Ways to Save Ammo, and much more!

Tanim Hasan is a Guide Writer at GameRiv working on various games which consists of mostly new releases. His favourite genre is Hack and Slash, and Souls Like. But he is open to play any game regardless of the genre. So he has experience with most genres of games.