Rainbow Six World Cup officially announced by Ubisoft

Sadnan Nafis
By Sadnan Nafis
4 Min Read
Image: Ubisoft

Ubisoft has just unveiled the first Rainbow Six World Cup, a new tournament where we’ll see 45 national teams competing together to claim the ultimate trophy.

YouTube video

Earlier today, Ubisoft announced the Rainbow Six World Cup tournament in their Forward event. This new tournament will aim to answer the ultimate question of which country is truly the best at Rainbow Six esports. And summer 2021 will the time to settle this question as the teams fight out in a fierce competition.


From the Qualifiers to the Final Stage, a total of 45 countries and regions will be involved in this first edition. 14 countries and regions will get a direct invite to the Final Stage and, additionally, 31 other countries will take part in online qualifiers to compete for one of the 6 remaining available slots. Ultimately, 20 teams will be competing in the Final Stage of the World Cup.


The 5 online qualifiers will be organized early 2021.


To determine the composition of each national team, the local Rainbow Six Siege community and professional scene will participate in a two-step process:

Step 1

Starting September 14, each of the 45 participating countries and regions will start selecting their National Committees, composed of 3 team managers. There are 3 sources from which the team managers will be selected:

  • One team manager will be selected by the Ubisoft local esports team.
  • A second one will be a representative from the local professional scene, elected by the professional players and coaches from that territory.
  • The last team manager will be a representative chosen by the local Rainbow Six Siege community.

Step 2

Later this fall, each National Committee will select the 5 players who will compete in the team.

Also, a national team can include a maximum of 2 players involved in the same pro organization (based on Nov. 2020 pro organizations rosters).

The 14 directly invited teams include Spain, the UK, Germany, Italy, France, and Russia from Europe; Korea, Japan, Taiwan, and Australia from APAC; Canada and the USA in NA, and Mexico and Brazil in LATAM.

[R6SE][NEWS] World cup announcement - infographics
Image: Ubisoft

Former French-American basketball star Tony Parker will be the official ambassador for this tournament. In the Forward event interview Parker said:

I’m excited to meet all the players and explain to them how special it is to play for your country. It’s very different than team-playing like if you go to your country and hear your national anthem, you have the goosebumps and you know it’s a great honor

More details about the qualifiers will be shared at a later date, so keep following us for the latest updates.

Sadnan Nafis is a Senior Esports Writer at GameRiv. Sadnan has a love-hate relationship with Rainbow Six Siege. He loves to keep himself updated with new tech videos and is always ready to help others.